Uganda Political Set-Up

 Head of state : President Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta Musveni(since seizing power on 26 January 1986); Vice President Edward Ssekandi (since 24 May 2011) NOTE: The president is both head of state and head of government
Head of government : President Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni (since seizing power on 26 January 1986); Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi (since 24 May 2011); Note: The prime minister assists the president in the supervision of the cabinet
Cabinet : Cabinet is appointed by the president from among both the elected and non elected legislators.
Elections: President re-elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held on 18 February 2011 (next to be held in 2016)
Election results: Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni elected president; percent of vote – Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni 68.4%, Kizza Besigye 26.0%, other 5.6%
Uganda is a presidential republic, in which the President of Uganda is both head of state and head of government; there is a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the National Assembly. The system is based on a democratic parliamentary system with universal suffrage for all citizens over 18 of years age. In a measure ostensibly designed to reduce sectarian violence, political parties were restricted in their activities from 1986. In the non-party “Movement” system instituted by the current president Yoweri Museveni, political parties continued to exist but could not campaign in elections or field candidates directly (although electoral candidates could belong to political parties). A constitutional referendum cancelled this 19-year ban on multi-party politics in July 2005.
The presidential elections were held in February 2006. Museveni ran against several candidates, of whom the most prominent was the exiled Dr. Kizza Besigye. Museveni was declared the winner. Besigye alleged fraud, and rejected the result. The Supreme Court of Uganda ruled that the election was marred by intimidation, violence, voter disenfranchisement, and other irregularities. However, the Court voted 4-3 to uphold the results of the election.
The Cabinet of Uganda, according to the Constitution of Uganda, “shall consist of the President, the Vice President and such number of Ministers as may appear to the President to be reasonably necessary for the efficient running of the State.”


Ministries of Uganda

  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
  • Ministry of Justice & Constitutional Affairs.
  • Ministry of Public Service.
  • Ministry of Finance, Planning, and Economic Development.
  • Ministry of Education and Sports.
  • Ministry of Local Government.
  • Ministry of Health.
  • Ministry of Works, Housing and Communications.
  • Ministry of Internal Affairs.
  • Ministry of Water and Environment.
  • Ministry of Gender, Labour & Social Development
  • Ministry of Energy and Minerals.
  • Ministry of Defense.
  • Ministry of Agriculture, Animal, Husbandry and Fisheries.
  • Ministry of Tourism.
  • Ministry of Information and Communication Technology.

The National Assembly has 332 members. 215 members are elected directly – via universal adult suffrage – in single-seat constituencies. In addition, each of Uganda’s 79 (soon to be 80) districts elects a Woman Representative via a direct vote, and 25 MPs are selected from so-called “special interest” groups via a complicated regional electoral college system. These special interest MPs include ten representatives of the UPDF (Uganda’s Armed Forces), 5 youth representatives, 5 representatives of people with disabilities and 5 representing workers. Uganda’s Parliamentary elections were held in March 2006, and the next will be contested in 2011.
On 4 May 2005, the Ugandan Parliament voted to conduct a referendum on the reintroduction of party politics in Uganda. The referendum was held on July 28, 2005 and Ugandans voted for a return to multi-party politics.
Note on the Distribution of seats:
– Constituency seats refers to directly elected constituency representatives (215)
– District Woman Reps. refers to directly elected District Woman Representatives (69)
– Indirect seats include: Representatives of the Youth (5), Representatives of Persons with Disabilities (5), and Representatives of Workers (5).


The Ugandan judiciary operates as an independent branch of government and consists of magistrate’s courts, high courts, courts of appeal, and the Supreme Court. Judges for the High Court are appointed by the president; Judges for the Court of Appeal are appointed by the president and approved by the legislature.
The Ugandan constitution was adopted on October 8, 1995 by the interim, 284-member Constituent Assembly, charged with debating the draft constitution that had been proposed in May 1993. Uganda’s legal system since 1995 has been based on English common law and African customary law (customary law is in effect only when it does not conflict with statutory law). Law enforcement policy is decided by the Police Council. The system accepts compulsory International Court of Justice jurisdiction, with reservations.

Uganda maintains a healthy and good relationship with other countries and it has no outstanding dispute / hostilities with any of it’s neighbours. All the disagreements between Rwanda as a result of the clashes between the two countries in 1998 in Kisangani,Congo were resolved and now the two countries enjoy brotherly relations which are “Britain and America like” built around thaier leaders(Museveni and Paul Kagame) who are like brothers.

Uganda’s Foreign Policy is good and cooperative in that Uganda is among the countries who provided policemen to go on a peace keeping mission in Darfur,Sudan(although the contract ended in 2011) and currently,Uganda has an 8000-plus strong force in Somalia on an African Union mission to bring order to this East African Country torn apart by terrorism,insurgency,tribal clashes and piracy.
Lome Convention, African Development Bank, East African Development Bank, United Nations Economic Commission For Africa, Food and Agriculture Organization, Group of 77, International Atomic Energy Agency, International Bank For Reconstruction and Development, International Civil Aviation Organization, International Criminal Court , Intrenational Confederation of Free Trade Unions, International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, International Development Association , Islamic Development Bank, International Fund for Agricultural Development , International Finance Corporation ,Intergovernmental Authority on Development, International Labor Organization, International Monetary Fund, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, International Organization for Migration, International Organisation for Standardization ( CORRESPONDENT ), International Telecommunication Union, Non Aligned Movement, African Union, OIC, Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons, Permanent Court of Arbitration, United Nations, United Nations Conference Trade and Development, UNESCO, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, United Nations Industrial Development Organization, Universal Postal Union, World Customs Organization, World Federation of Trade Unions, World Health Organization, World Intellectual Property Organization, World Meteorological Organization, World Tourism Organisation, World Trade Organization.

© 2021 Uganda Rwanda Travel Guide