Uganda Finance

Finance is under the ministry of finance, economic planning and development in the government of the Republic of Uganda.

This Ministry is under Maria Kiwanuka, the cabinet minister for finance, economic planning and development.

All the Financial institutions are Licenced by the Bank of Uganda(bou) Under the leadership of Governor Emmanuel Mutebile.

Financial institutions which can be categorised as tier 1 financial institutions(commercial banks), tier 2 financial institutions, tier 3 financial institutions, Development banks, Investment banks & stockbrokers, forex bureaus and insurance companies.


1.Stanbic Bank (Uganda) Limited
The bank is the largest commercial bank in the country, with assets, with an estimated asset base of US$1.043 billion (UGX:2.4 trillion), accounting for approximately 22% of the total bank assets in Uganda, as of December 2010. This Bank has the largest branch network, accounting for about 16% of the bank branches in the country.
Stanbic Bank (Uganda) Limited is a member of the Standard Bank Group, with headquarters in Johannesburg, South Africa with branches in 18 African countries and affiliates in 21 other countries outside Africa.
Its asset base is in excess of US$174 billion. Stanbic Bank (Uganda) Limited is listed on the Uganda Securities Exchange (USE), where it trades under the symbol SBU
As of February 2009, the ownership of Stanbic Bank (Uganda) Limited is as shown in the table below.

Hannington Karuhanga is Chairman of the Board. Philip Odera is the Managing Director.
As of September 2011, Stanbic Bank (Uganda) Limited has these branches:-

Adjumani Branch ,Apac Branch ,Arua Branch ,Buliisa Branch ,Bundibugyo Branch,Bushenyi Branch,Busia Branch ,Bwamiramira Branch ,City Branch – Crested Towers, Main Branch,Entebbe Airport Branch ,Entebbe Main Branch ,Fort Portal Branch ,Garden City Branch, Gulu Branch ,Hoima Branch ,Ibanda Branch Iganga Branch,InlandRevenue Branch ,IPS Building Branch ,Ishaka Branch, Jinja Branch ,Kalangala Branch ,Kabale Branch ,Kabwohe Branch , Kamuli Branch , Kapchorwa Branch ,Kasese Branch ,Katwe Branch ,Kiboga Branch ,Kigumba Branch,  Kihihi Branch ,Kinyara Branch – Kinyara, Kireka Branch ,Kisoro Branch ,Kitgum Branch ,Koboko Branch ,Kotido Branch ,Kumi Branch ,Kyambogo Branch,Kyotera Branch ,Lira Branch,Lugazi Branch ,Lugogo Branch – Forest Mall,Luweero Branch ,Lyantonde Branch ,Malaba Branch ,Makerere University Branch, Masaka Branch ,Masindi Branch, Mbale Branch ,Mbarara Branch ,Mityana Branch ,Moroto Branch ,Moyo Branch,Mpigi Branch ,Mubende Branch ,Mukono Branch ,Mulago Branch ,Nakawa Branch,Nakivubo Branch – Nakivubo,Nebbi Branch ,Ntungamo Branch ,Pallisa Branch ,Pakwach Branch ,Rukungiri Branch ,Soroti Branch ,Tororo Branch ,Wandegeya Branch,Wobulenzi Branch

2.Standard Chartered Uganda (officially Standard Chartered Bank (Uganda) Limited) is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Standard Chartered.

As of December 2010, it is the second-largest commercial bank in Uganda, by assets, with an estimated asset base of US$782.6 million (UGX:1.8 trillion). The bank owns an estimated 16% of total bank assets in the country and maintains approximately 2.5% of all bank branches in Uganda.
Stanchart Uganda is a subsidiary of the Standard Chartered Bank Group, headquartered in London in the United Kingdom, with operations in more than seventy countries and a network of over 1,700 branches, employing in excess of 73,000 people.
As of March 2010, the bank has a network of ten (10) interconnected branches at the following locations.
Head Office – 5 Speke Road, City Branch – 9 William Street, Lugogo Branch – Lugogo Mall, Garden City Branch – Garden City Mall, 64 – 84 Yusuf Lule Road,Jinja Branch – 2-4 Grant Road, Mbale Branch – 37 Republic Street, Mbarara Branch – 24 High Street, Ntinda Branch – Ntinda Shopping Mall, 1 Kimera Road, Kikuubo Branch – 15 Nakivubo Road,
Gulu Branch – 3 Andrea Olal Road, Mortgage Branch – Garden City Mall, 64-84 Yusuf Lule Road, (Specializes in mortgage products).

Other banks include. Barclays Bank (Uganda), DFCU Bank, Centenary Bank, Crane Bank, Citibank, Bank of Baroda (Uganda), Imperial Bank Uganda, ABC Bank (Uganda), National Bank of Commerce (Uganda) Ownership, Cairo International Bank (CIB), Fina Bank Group, Ecobank (Uganda), United Bank for Africa (Uganda), Diamond Trust Bank (Uganda) Limited, Kenya Commercial Bank (Uganda), Bank of Baroda (Uganda), Housing Finance Bank.

© 2021 Uganda Rwanda Travel Guide